About Us

Your Council members for the 2020 - 2021 school year are:

Co-Chair: Nora Kennedy sc-emilycarrms@ocdsb.ca

Co-Chair: Tanya Monteiro sc-emilycarrms@ocdsb.ca

Treasurer: Derek Black

Secretary: Lisa Lovric

OCASC Representative: David Manias

Fundraising Chair: Aline Vesley

Members at Large:
Stephanie Ettinger
Jessica Faure
Jess Hearty
Gerrian MacKinnon
Leslie Wittenberg

Welcome to Emily Carr Middle School’s School Council 2020/21

Thank you to all the parents and guardians who have joined Council and join in at our monthly meetings. We meet during the third week of each month (with few exceptions) on alternate Tuesday and Wednesday evenings, to accommodate schedules. Our meetings are held virtually, using Google Meet and all are welcome to join – please email Tanya or Nora at sc-emilycarrms@ocdsb.ca for the meeting links! Please watch for meeting reminders from Principal Coulson, and check the school calendar for more information and agendas.

We are always open to hearing comments or questions from the Emily Carr community and welcome you to connect with us anytime! If you have ideas to share on school activities, events, fundraising, communications etc., please connect with us. We look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you!
Tanya and Nora, Co-Chairs ECMS School Council

June 2020

Parent Council Wrap Up

It has been an unprecedented year for all, and Council was no exception. We are sad for all the missed opportunities, and for all who missed the halls of Emily Carr Middle School these last few months. A special shout out to the outgoing grade 8s - we wish them well in high school, and look forward to planning an event to welcome them back as soon as we are able, to celebrate them and their many successes at Emily Carr!

We join everyone in welcoming the incoming grade 6 Thunderbirds, and were disappointed to not be able to support their Spring feeder school visit. If you know an incoming student, please welcome them to our community, and make sure they know we are all happy to help them with any questions they have about what life (as we know it!) is like at Emily Carr.

ECMS School Council looks forward to continuing to support activities and funding in classrooms, the music room, clubs and sport teams and throughout the school next Fall. As always, this support for school activities can’t happen without dedicated volunteers. Thank you!

Thank you to all the parents who volunteered to make the pizza program a great success this year, and a special thank you to Aline Vesely for continuing to do an incredible job leading the pizza program!

We say goodbye to a few council members who are moving onto high school.  Thank you to all of you, especially Lesley Ireton and Paul Bornn, for all for your hard work over the years. Best wishes.

Thank you to all the council volunteers, and especially Principal Coulson and Ms. Karen Green for your support. Everyone is welcome to attend any of our Council meetings, at any time. Please attend the first meeting of the school year on Tuesday, September 15, 2020 at 6:30pm. More information on meeting location (in person or virtual) will follow at the end of the summer. If you’re interested in joining the council, please reach out.

In the meantime, we welcome any questions or comments and are only an email or phone call away. Please feel free to reach out to co-chairs Tanya Monteiro (tanyasmonteiro@gmail.com) or Nora Kennedy (norak@rogers.com).

On behalf of the Council we wish all of our ECMS students, families and staff a happy, safe summer.

Tanya Monteiro and Nora Kennedy, co-chairs ECMS School Council

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.